South Africa signs agreement to join the IEA

Last week South Africa signed an agreement to become the eighth association country of the International Energy Agency (IEA).

Signing the agreement with IEA director Fatih Biroll, South Africa’s Energy Minister Jeff Radebe said: “I believe this decision positions our country at the centre of the global energy forum and will yield positive economic benefits to our country as we learn from IEA member countries and other association members. This association initiative is based on a very inclusive approach, adapting and evolving in a non-binding manner, which will teach us the benefits and responsibilities of all parties,”

He added that the membership would provide South Africa with a form of regular dialogue with the IEA and association countries through the participation of standing groups, committees and ministerial meetings.

“This would not have been possible without the close working relationship with the executive director.”

The IEA covers 38 countries and represents 70 percent of global energy consumption.


Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Latest Posts

Subscribe For Updates

Sign up for latest news and event info

Copyright © 2021 Africa Oil & Power. Privacy Policy · Terms of Use